what i'm (done) reading...


























Just finished this one and had to mention - it is definitely a new favorite of mine. Incredible read.

Description: A riveting and unsettling novel about a girl and her father who live off the grid, in the shadows at the edge of civilization. A thirteen-year-old girl and her father live in Forest Park, the enormous nature preserve in Portland, Oregon. They inhabit an elaborate cave shelter, wash in a nearby creek, store perishables at the water's edge, use a makeshift septic system, tend a garden, even keep a library of sorts.

Once a week, they go to the city to buy groceries, attend church, and otherwise merge with the civilized world. But one small mistake allows a backcountry jogger to discover them, which derails their entire existence, ultimately provoking a deeper flight.

In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Into the Wild and Elizabeth Gilbert's Last American Man, Peter Rock's My Abandonment, inspired by a true story (and the Elizabeth Smart case) and told through the startlingly sincere voice of his young protagonist, Caroline, is an eerie and mesmerizing book of survival and hope, and a completely original novel of a remarkable and triumphant transformation.

4 comments:

July 21, 2010 at 4:50 PM Helen [In Elegance] said...

This actually sounds like a very interesting book, thanks for the review.

July 23, 2010 at 12:28 AM Louela Daniele said...

i get so tired watching tv and being a couch potato! i need a summer read and i think im gonna check this out from the library! i miss reading! anyway, love you blog!

loueladaniele.com

July 23, 2010 at 1:56 PM Kristin said...

That sounds haunting yet like a complete must read!

July 24, 2010 at 2:29 PM ChinkyGirLMeL said...

hmmm...I'm sold. I need to find a copy of this in the bookstore. =)